Mysterious E-mail

#0 - Oct. 3, 2010, 6:28 p.m.
Blizzard Post
So, I just got an e-mail on the Wrong E-mail address, telling me that Blizzard suspects that I'm trying to sell my account. The e-mail is from [email protected], and has a link for me to click to verify that I'm the owner of the account...

First off, I have no intention of selling my account... so I'm curious what makes them think I'm trying to sell my account.

Can anyone tell me if this is legitimate?
#11 - Oct. 3, 2010, 11:04 p.m.
Blizzard Post
As the others have indicated, Meiluy, that e-mail is definitely a phishing attempt. We do not threaten accounts with suspension on suspect information. If we believed that you were attempting to sale or trade your account and had evidence to that affect then we would apply the appropriate actions. It would be up to you to contact us if you wish to dispute our original conclusion.

Also, if you look at the link found in the e-mail it does not lead to an official Blizzard address. You should only be directed to sites that end in Blizzard.com, Battle.net or Worldofwarcraft.com. The one in that e-mail, though it does contain Battle.net actually ends with battiie. :)

More information on phishing e-mails as well as general account/computer security advice can be found in the links below.

Battle.net Account Security Awareness
http://us.battle.net/security/

Account and Computer Security
http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/30794

How to Identify Fake or Phishing Emails
http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/25133

Battle.net Authenticator
http://us.blizzard.com/support/article/24986