#1 - Oct. 10, 2023, 6:58 p.m.
Blizzard Post


Season 7 of Competitive Play is here!

Competitive Play is designed for those players who want to put their skills to the test and offers a more serious experience than our Quick Play or Arcade Modes. Players new to Overwatch 2 will unlock access to Competitive Play when they complete the Competitive Play Qualification challenge by winning 50 unranked games.


Before you can kick off your competitive career, you will be required to win five games to obtain their seasonal skill division for their selected Competitive Play mode. Within the standard Role Queue competitive mode, players will earn a separate skill division for each role in Competitive Play, for a total of three distinct skill divisions. There is a separate skill division for Open Queue and other competitive modes as well. This skill division will be a tier—Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, or Grandmaster—followed by a number from 5 (lowest) to 1 (highest). You climb into higher skill divisions and tiers as you improve.

As you compete, your skill division will increase or decrease after you complete 5 wins or 15 losses (whichever comes first) based on your win record, frequency of play, and the skill levels of your opponents.

A detailed breakdown of the skill tiers, along with icons and information about the corresponding skill divisions, can be found by pressing the “Information” button under the Competitive Play menu.


In addition to experiencing the thrill of victory, players can also unlock unique season titles through Competitive Play if they can reach the rank of Platinum or higher. When you earn a season title, you can equip and use it through the next season but not in any future season afterward. There are also additional titles once you win enough games in any Competitive mode, and these titles are permanent.

On top of that, as you complete competitive matches, you’ll earn a currency called Competitive Points. You will earn 25 points for every win. When the season concludes, you’ll also receive a number of Competitive Points based on the highest Skill Tier you obtained during the season from the role and mode with the highest skill tier you reach to spend on golden versions of your favorite heroes’ weapons.

Here’s the Skill Tier to Competitive Reward breakdown:

Highest Skill Tier Rewards
Bronze 300 CP
Silver 450 CP
Gold 600 CP
Platinum 800 CP
Diamond 1000 CP + Diamond Challenger Title
Master 1200 CP + Master Challenger Title
Grandmaster 1500 CP + Grand Master Challenger Title


The best of the best players compete across five separate Top 500 Leaderboards. Within Role Queue, one for each role, along with an additional combined average leaderboard. The combined Role Queue Top 500 Leaderboard will be based on the player’s average skill rating across all three roles. To be eligible for a role-specific leaderboard, players must win at least 50 games in that role. To qualify for the combined Top 500 Leaderboard, players must be eligible for all three role-specific leaderboards. Open Queue will have its own Leaderboard that will require at least 50 wins for qualification. At the end of the season, players who earn a spot within the Top 500 players for any of these leaderboards on their platform and region will receive an exclusive title instead of their rank.


  • The Top 500 Leaderboards for season-long Competitive modes will now be revealed two weeks after the start of the season.

Season 7 is live RIGHT NOW on Battle.net, Steam®, Nintendo® Switch, PlayStation® 4, PlayStation® 5, and Xbox® One|X|S , so power up your favorite gaming machine and join the fight. We’ll see you in-game!