#1 - Dec. 6, 2022, 8:20 p.m.
Blizzard Post

Welcome to season 2 for Competitive Play in Overwatch 2!

Season 2 of Competitive Play is here!

Competitive Play is designed for those players who want to put their skills to the test, and offers a more serious experience than our Quick Play or Arcade Modes. Players new to Overwatch 2 will unlock access to Competitive Play when they complete the Competitive Play Qualification challenge by winning 50 unranked games.


Before you can kick off your competitive career, every player will be required to win seven games to obtain their seasonal skill division in their choice of role in Role Queue or playing Open Queue. Within the standard Role Queue competitive mode, players will earn a separate skill division for each role in Competitive Play, for a total of three distinct skill divisions. There is a separate skill division for Open Queue as well. This skill division will be a tier—Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, or Grandmaster – followed by a number from 5 (lowest) to 1 (highest). You climb into higher skill divisions and tiers as you improve.

As you compete, your selected role or Open Queue skill division will increase or decrease after you complete 7 wins or 20 losses (whichever comes first) based on your win record, frequency of play, and the skill levels of your opponents.

A detailed breakdown of the skill tiers, along with icons and information about the corresponding skill divisions, can be found by pressing the “Information” button under the Competitive Play menu.


In addition to experiencing the thrill of victory, players can also unlock unique season titles through Competitive Play if they can reach the rank of Diamond or higher. When you earn a season title, you can equip and use it through the next season but not in any future season afterward. There are also additional titles once you win enough games in any Competitive mode and these titles are permanent.

On top of that, as you complete competitive matches, you’ll earn a currency called Competitive Points. You will earn 15 points for every win and 5 points in the rare event a match ends in a draw. When the season concludes, you’ll also receive a number of Competitive Points based on the highest Skill Tier you obtained during the season from the role and mode with the highest skill tier you reach to spend on golden versions of your favorite heroes’ weapons.

Here’s the Skill Tier to Competitive Reward breakdown:

Highest Skill Tier Rewards
Bronze 65 CP
Silver 125 CP
Gold 250 CP
Platinum 500 CP
Diamond 750 CP + Diamond Challenger Title
Master 1200 CP + Master Challenger Title
Grandmaster 1750 CP + Grand Master Challenger Title


The best of the best players compete across five separate Top 500 Leaderboards. Within Role Queue, one for each role, along with an additional combined average leaderboard. The combined Role Queue Top 500 Leaderboard will be based on the player’s average skill rating across all three roles. To be eligible for a role-specific leaderboard, players must complete at least 25 games in that role. To qualify for the combined Top 500 Leaderboard, players must be eligible for all three role-specific leaderboards. Open Queue will have its own Leaderboard that will require at least 50 games played within the game mode for qualification. At the end of the season, players who earn a spot within the Top 500 players for any of these leaderboards on their platform and region will receive an exclusive title instead of their rank.

Season 2 is live RIGHT NOW on Windows PC, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One, so power up your favorite gaming machine and join the fight. We’ll see you in-game!

Update: Start of each Competitive Season for Returning Players

Players who played in season 1 will notice changes that are different from how Competitive seasons worked before Overwatch 2 launched, and we want to take the time to remind players of these changes that are part of the Competitive 2.0 experience in Overwatch 2.

Final Competitive Update
At the end of every season, you will receive a final Competitive update, regardless of reaching 7 wins or 20 losses, based on any matches played since your last rank update. So, for example, if you lost more matches than you won, it is possible to have dropped down in rank, and that final update applies as the ending rank for the season.

New Season Rating
When a new Competitive season begins, we apply some rank decay to all roles, meaning your skill tier and division will likely be lower from where the previous season ended. Players should climb back to ranks representing their true skill level throughout the season. Regardless of the rank decay, all matches will still be made off a player’s underlying matchmaking rating, ensuring we’re making as fair matches as possible.

End-of-Season Competitive Point Payouts
As mentioned above, we have updated our end-of-season bonus competitive points to reward the highest rank you end with across all roles between Role Queue and Open Queue. Competitive Points are awarded based on the ending skill ranks and no longer what is the highest achieved in a season.